Decision of the Davis Cup Committee on eligibility appeals

The Davis Cup Committee met on Saturday, 30 May, 2015 at Roland Garros. The Committee considered three Eligibility Request appeals from nations, following the introduction of the new Eligibility Rule for Davis Cup and Fed Cup that restricts players from competing in the competitions for more than one country during their careers. This rule, approved by the ITF Annual General Meeting in September 2014 by a 93 per cent margin, came into effect on 1 January 2015.

The Committee rejected the appeals by the Lawn Tennis Association for Aljaz Bedene, and by the Belarus Tennis Association for Maxim Dubarenco because they did not meet either the existing or former criteria of the eligibility rule. 

The Committee upheld the appeal by the Deutscher Tennis Bund (DTB) on behalf of Dustin Brown. The Committee agreed that Brown had met all of the criteria for eligibility under the previous rule before 31 December 2014 and agreed with the DTB that their administrative error in not filing for eligibility ahead of the deadline should not preclude Brown from representing Germany in Davis Cup by BNP Paribas.

The LTA and Belarus Tennis Association can appeal the decisions of the Davis Cup Committee to the ITF Board of Directors.